FSSD Renovation Wins Design Award

FSSD Renovation Wins Design Award

The Franklin Special School District's newest renovation project at Poplar Grove Elementary and Middle was recently recognized as the Tennessee School Boards Association 2022 School of the Year for Excellence in Architectural Design. In addition to the FSSD Board of Education, the architectural firm of Wold | HFR Design, was also recognized. TSBA recognizes architectural firms for their excellence in design. FSSD and the architects were on hand on at the TSBA convention in November at the Opryland Hotel to receive this recognition.

The new gym, opened in May 2022, includes a full-size basketball court, two cross-court practice courts, a volleyball court, four-square courts, and 480 seats for students and spectators. Additionally, the gym features a concession stand, multiple locker rooms, teacher offices and a multipurpose room that doubles as a storm shelter. The existing gym will continue to be primarily designated for middle school use.

“Our goal was to make use of the space easier and more seamless between the two schools,” said Dr. Alisha Erickson, Principal of Poplar Grove Elementary. “The new gym will provide Poplar Grove Elementary the necessary space for daily PE classes, in addition to the capacity for sporting practices and events. We know what a huge benefit this space will be to the health and happiness of our students.”

“We’re proud to celebrate another successful project with Franklin Special School District and look forward to seeing the positive impact of these new facilities on students, educators and the community,” said Stephen Griffin, AIA, Principal at Wold | HFR Design. “As a national firm with a 100+ year legacy in Middle Tennessee, we’re particularly proud of the projects we design in the communities where we live and work, and it’s one of the many reasons we are delighted to be part of these projects and celebrations.”

TSBA School of the Year awards are granted in four categories, including new school construction of elementary, middle, and high schools, and renovation.

Pictured are (left to right): Stephen Griffin of Wold/HFR Design, school board members Alicia Barker, Kevin Townsel, Jared Brown of Wold/HFR Design, David Esslinger of FSSD, Allena Bell and Robert Blair, school board members.